First, I encourage all of you to read Mr. May-Beaver’s book, Suburban Gospel. It is hilarious. However, I also encourage you to picture someone else as the author as it talks a lot about his sex life and desires as a kid. Because I knew him before, I found it a little odd, but still laughed at almost every page of the book. One of the main themes of this book is Mr. MB’s faith. He grew up as an evangelical Christian who was taught that sinning would send him to hell unless he was baptized. He was forced to balance his faith with his non-Christian like desires. His book tells the story of how he dealt with these struggles. Though I never kissed anybody at church camp or watched people change through a telescope, I too have had to balance my faith with my un-Christ like desires. I grew up in a Christian home where we went to church every Sunday, small group every Wednesday, and worked with special needs kids every other week. Once my brother and sister graduated, we started going to church less and less. I had to learn to balance my relationship with my friends and my relationship with God. These are the same feelings that Mr. MB discussed in his memoir. I think kids who grow up being forced going to church often try and rebel later in life. I went through this stage, and Mr. MB did as well. Faith is not something that can be forced, and Mr. MB did a great job of showing how your relationship with God is truly an individual relationship. He shows that only you and God can decide what’s right and wrong for you. The humor that Mr. MB used throughout the book made me be able to laugh at how he and so many other kids go through these struggles. He used satire to display a serious issue which makes it easier to read, but also shows genuine struggles that so many of us have gone through. My question to y’all is did y’all go through any issues when trying to balance your faith and your social life? How did you figure it out?

 

Again, I so recommend this book; I honestly loved every page.